Canada's Court System

This section provides a general description of the court system in Canada – the types and levels of courts and their responsibilities. It is not intended as a user's guide for going to court. For information on the justice system as a whole we recommend consulting the section About Canada's System of Justice.

The Canadian system of government depends on a dynamic relationship among its three branches – the Legislature, the Executive and the Judiciary or courts. The Legislature has the power of making, altering and repealing laws. The Executive is responsible for administering and enforcing the laws. The Judiciary has the task of settling disputes according to law – including disputes about how the legislative and executive powers are handled. Independent courts are the hallmark of a strong democratic society.

Date modified: