Report on Results 2009-2010 Implementation of Section 41 of the Official Languages Act

General Information

Federal institution

Department of Justice Canada
284 Wellington Street
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel.: 613-957-4621
Fax: 613-946-3106

Responsible Minister

Rob Nicholson, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Senior officials responsible for implementing Section 41 of the OLA

Associate Deputy Minister of Justice and Official Languages Champion
Yves Côté
284 Wellington Street
Room EMB-4175
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-941-4073
Fax: 613-941-4074
yves.cote@justice.gc.ca

Chief Legislative Counsel and Official Languages Co-Champion
John Mark Keyes
275 Sparks Street
Room SAT-7123
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-954-5786
Fax: 613-952-4080
john-mark.keyes@justice.gc.ca

General Counsel and Director
Suzanne Poirier
275 Sparks Street
Room SAT-5014
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-952-1119
Fax: 613-946-3106
suzanne.poirier@justice.gc.ca

Senior Counsel and Manager
Andrée Duchesne
275 Sparks Street
Room SAT-5020
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-954-7233
Fax: 613-946-3106
andree.duchesne@justice.gc.ca

Federal institution’s general mandate

The Department of Justice works to ensure that Canada’s justice system is as fair, accessible and efficient as possible. The Department of Justice serves Canadians indirectly by acting as the Government’s law firm, rather than by handling citizens’ personal or individual matters directly. The Department’s responsibilities reflect the dual role of the Minister of Justice, who is also the Attorney General of Canada.

Under Canada’s federal system, the administration of justice is an area of shared jurisdiction between the federal government and the provinces. The Department supports the Minister of Justice in his responsibilities for 49 statutes and areas of federal law by ensuring a bilingual and bijural national legal framework.

National Coordinator responsible for the implementation of Section 41

Lise C. Sarault
Policy Analyst
275 Sparks Street
Room SAT-5021
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-952-1096
Fax: 613-946-3106
lise.sarault@justice.gc.ca

Departmental Network of Section 41 Coordinators

Regional Coordinators

British Columbia
Mélanie Chartier
Counsel
1500-1138 Melville Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4S3
Tel: 604-666-3813
Fax: 604-666-3097
melanie.chartier@justice.gc.ca

Alberta
Michele Vincent
Counsel
Civil Litigation and Advisory Services
211 Bank of Montreal Building
10199 101st Street
Edmonton (Alberta) T5J 3Y4
Tel: 780-495-4071
Fax: 780-495-6300
michele.vincent@justice.gc.ca

Saskatchewan
Daryl Schatz
Regional Director and General Counsel
Civil Litigation and Advisory Services
Prairie Region
123 2nd Avenue South, 10th Floor
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) S7K 7E6
Tel: 306-975-5190
Fax: 306-975-6240
daryl.schatz@justice.gc.ca

Manitoba
Julien Bédard
Counsel
Centennial House
310 Broadway Avenue
Room 301
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3C 0S6
Tel: 204-983-0984
Fax: 204-984-5434
julien.bedard@justice.gc.ca

Ontario
Diane Dagenais
Assistant Regional Director and Senior Counsel
Exchange Tower
130 King Street West
Suite 3400, P.O. Box 36
Toronto (Ontario) M5X 1K6
Tel: 416-973-9711
Fax: 416-954-8982
diane.dagenais@justice.gc.ca

Quebec
Francisco Couto
Associate Senior Regional Director
Complexe Guy-Favreau
200 René-Lévesque Blvd. West
East Tower, 9th Floor
Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1X4
Tel: 514-283-9965
Fax: 514-283-9690
francisco.couto@justice.gc.ca

Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador
Kim Duggan
Legal Counsel
Atlantic Regional Office
Duke Tower
5251 Duke Street
Suite 1400
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1P3
Tel: 902-426-9104
Fax: 902-426-8796
kim.duggan@justice.gc.ca

Nunavut
Phyllis MacRae
Senior Counsel
Suite 623
100 Metcalfe Street
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-941-2652
Fax: 613-946-6897
phyllis.macrae@justice.gc.ca

Yukon
Maegan Hough
Counsel
3162 3rd Avenue
Room 200
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory Y1A 1G3
Tel: 867-667-3992
Fax: 867-667-3934
maegan.hough@justice.gc.ca

Northwest Territories
Jason Steele
Legal Counsel
5020 - 48th Street
Joe Tobie Building, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 8
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2N1
Tel: 867-920-6008
Fax: 867-920-6024
jason.steele@justice.gc.ca

Program and Policy Coordinators

Family Violence Initiative and Access to Justice in Both Official Languages Support Fund
Yves-Carol Monette
Program Analyst
Innovations, Analysis and Integration Directorate
284 Wellington Street
Room EMB-6290
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-941-8894
Fax: 613-941-2269
ycmonett@justice.gc.ca

Contraventions Act Fund
Marc Dubois
Senior Program Analyst
284 Wellington Street
Room EMB-6298
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-957-4452
Fax: 613-941-2269
marc.dubois@justice.gc.ca

Youth Justice Renewal Fund
Jasmyne Bois
Program Analyst
180 Elgin Street, 7th Floor
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613- 941-4179
Fax: 613-954-3348
jasmyne.bois@justice.gc.ca

Family, Children and Youth Section
Lise Lafrenière-Henrie
Senior Counsel / Coordinator
284 Wellington Street
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-957-0059
Fax: 613-952-9600
lise.lafreniere-henrie@justice.gc.ca

and

Ginette Thibault
Program Analyst
284 Wellington Street
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-957-0717
Fax: 613-952-9600
ginette.thibault@justice.gc.ca

Victims of Crime Initiative
Mireille Provost
Senior Program Analyst
284 Wellington Street
Room EMB-6234
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-957-3706
Fax: 613-941-2269
mireillec.provost@justice.gc.ca

Justice Partnership and Innovation Fund
Marc Rozon
Director
284 Wellington Street
Room EMB-6307
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H8
Tel: 613-954-2884
Fax: (613) 941-5446
marc.rozon@justice.gc.ca

Date modified: