Voyeurism as a Criminal Offence: A Consultation Paper

The federal government is considering the creation of new Criminal Code offences to deal with voyeuristic activity. Specifically, what is being considered is the creation of a substantive offence to deal with voyeurism, as well as an offence to criminalize the distribution of materials generated by voyeurism. The Department is also seeking your views on whether a voyeurism scheme should include defences, and what kind of penalty scheme would be appropriate. These various issues are discussed in the larger consultation paper entitled "Voyeurism as a Criminal Offence: A Consultation Paper" and provides a detailed and technical examination of the issues that arise in respect of formulating a legislative scheme to address voyeurism. The second document is shorter and less technical in nature and is called "Voyeurism as a Criminal Offence: A Consultation Paper – The Abridged Version".

In the course of examining issues for possible further legislative development, it is common for the Department of Justice to consult with the public about appropriate options and policy. Citizen involvement in the legislative process lies at the heart of the federal government’s commitment to promote transparency and citizen participation in developing criminal policy.

In response to questions posed in either consultation paper, please feel free to indicate as much detail as you would like and to identify and answer other, related questions or issues. Short responses may be submitted in letter format. We ask that lengthier comments be submitted in a format that clearly shows the legal issue or consultation document question to which the submission relates.

The Department of Justice must receive all responses by Monday, September 30, 2002. The Department will then process the responses obtained in the course of the public consultation and will post a summary of the results on its Web site at: http://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/cons/voy/index.html.

  • Voyeurism as a Criminal Offence: Summary of the Submissions (HTML)
  • Voyeurism as a Criminal Offence: A Consultation Paper (HTML) (PDF Version)
  • Voyeurism as a Criminal Offence: A Consultation Paper (Abridged Version) (HTML) (PDF Version)
Date modified:

Voyeurisme – Une infraction criminelle : Document de consultation

Le gouvernement du Canada envisage la création de nouvelles infractions au Code criminel afin de réprimer les activités de voyeurisme. Plus particulièrement, le gouvernement envisage de créer une infraction principale de voyeurisme, ainsi qu'une infraction visant à criminaliser la distribution de représentations visuelles obtenues par le biais du voyeurisme. Le Ministère désire vous consulter sur la question de savoir si un régime applicable au voyeurisme doit prévoir des défenses, de même que le régime des sanctions applicables. Ces différentes questions sont discutées dans le document de consultation intitulé : « Voyeurisme – Une infraction criminelle : Un Document de consultation », de façon plus détaillée et technique les considérations relatives à la formulation d’un régime juridique applicable au voyeurisme. Le second document intitulé : « Voyeurisme – Une infraction criminelle : Un Document de consultation  - La version abrégée », est plus court et moins technique de nature.

Le Ministère de la Justice a l'habitude de consulter la population sur les options et politiques qu'il convient d'adopter, lorsqu'il se penche sur des perfectionnements législatifs possibles. La participation des citoyens au processus législatif est au cœur de l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada de favoriser la transparence et la participation des citoyens dans l'élaboration des politiques en matière de droit pénal.

En répondant aux questions posées dans les deux documents de consultation, n'hésitez pas à fournir tous les détails que vous désirez et à soulever d'autres questions ou enjeux connexes tout en proposant des solutions. Les réponses brèves peuvent être présentées dans une lettre. Nous vous demandons de présenter les remarques plus longues dans un format qui montre clairement le point de droit ou la question du document de consultation dont vous traitez.

Le Ministère de la Justice avait fixé, au lundi 30 septembre 2002, la date limite pour soumettre ses commentaires. Le Ministère a ensuite procédé à l'analyse des réponses obtenues dans le cadre de la consultation publique.

  • Voyeurisme – Une infraction criminelle : Résumé des commentaires (HTML)
  • Voyeurisme – Une infraction criminelle : Document de consultation (HTML) (Version PDF)
  • Voyeurisme – Une infraction criminelle : Document de consultation (version abrégée) (HTML) (Version PDF)
Date de modification :