Department of Justice Canada Minister's Transition Book

Justice Related Organizations

Judicial Organizations

Canadian Judicial Council

Chair

Rt. Hon. Beverley McLachlin, P.C.

Executive Director and Senior General Counsel Norman Sabourin

The Canadian Judicial Council (CJC) comprises all superior court chief justices and associate chief justices, as well as the senior judges of the Nunavut Court of Justice, the Supreme Court of the Yukon Territory and the Supreme Court of the Northwest Territories (39 members). It was created to promote efficiency, uniformity, and accountability, and to improve the quality of judicial service in the superior courts of Canada.

A major statutory responsibility is receiving and considering complaints respecting the superior court judiciary and, where it carries out a formal inquiry or investigation, reporting its findings to the Minister of Justice.

The CJC plays a major role in judicial education through approval of educational seminars for funding under the Judges Act. It also takes positions on other matters affecting the judiciary, such as compensation.

The full Council meets twice a year, usually in the spring and fall. The Minister is always invited to address both meetings.

Canadian Superior Courts Judges Association

President

Hon. Justice Mark McEwan

Supreme Court of British Columbia, Nelson, B.C.

The Canadian Superior Courts Judges Association (CSCJA) is a voluntary association composed mainly of puisne judges, although some chief justices are also members. The main purpose of the CSCJA is to speak on behalf of the superior court judiciary with respect to judicial compensation and related issues, whether it be to the Minister of Justice, the Department of Justice, or the government as a whole.

The CSCJA conducts its activities through 15 committees whose members come from across the country to address issues such as compensation, the conduct of judges, access to justice, public legal education, and independence of the judiciary. The Association also plays an active role in two international groups: the Association of Judges and Magistrates of the Commonwealth, currently chaired by a Canadian judge, the Honourable John Vertes, and the International Association of Judges, where Justice Robert A. Blair, of the Ontario Court of Appeal, represents the CSCJA.

     [Information was severed in accordance with the Access to Information Act. s.21(1)(a)]     

The CSCJA meets annually, usually in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Canadian Bar Association. An invitation to speak at a luncheon or dinner is usually extended to the Minister of Justice in connection with this meeting.

Canadian Council of Chief Judges

The position of Executive Director rotates among provincial chief judges

The Canadian Council of Chief Judges (CCCJ) is a non-statutory body, whose membership comprises provincial and territorial chief judges and associate chief judges. While the organization may have similar interests to those of the Canadian Association of Provincial Court Judges, the members, as the judicial managers of the provincial courts, have distinct objectives and perspectives. Past issues of interest to the CCCJ have included court structures, funding for judicial education, and consultations on criminal law reform.

Canadian Association of Provincial Court Judges

President

Justice Lee Ann Martin Provincial Court of Manitoba

The Canadian Association of Provincial Court Judges (CAPCJ) is a voluntary association of provincially appointed judges. It is concerned mainly with promoting the interests of its members, such as working conditions, status, and continuing legal education.

The Department of Justice consults regularly with CAPCJ on the development of major criminal law initiatives and on the implementation of programs that have implications for the provincial courts. The CAPCJ receives annual core funding from the Department of Justice and the Minister of Justice usually meets annually with the CAPCJ.

National Judicial Institute

Chair

Rt. Hon. Beverley McLachlin, P.C.

Executive Director Hon. Justice C. Adèle Kent

Alberta Court of Queen's Bench

The federal government and the Department of Justice have been strong supporters of the concept of a national centre for training federally and provincially appointed judges. This support led to the establishment of the National Judicial Institute (NJI), which began operations in 1988 and is funded jointly by federal, provincial and territorial governments.

The NJI offers and coordinates judicial education services to all levels of judges across the country. It is an independent corporation, managed by a Board of Governors that is made up of two provincial court judges and three federally appointed judges. The NJI undertakes the coordination of the involvement of Canadian judges in providing judicial education internationally. Its International Cooperation Group has managed judicial reform projects that extend over several years in numerous countries, including Australia, Chile, China, Ethiopia, Ghana, Jamaica, Mexico, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, Peru, Rwanda, Russia and Scotland.

Legal Profession Organizations

Canadian Bar Association

President

Michele Hollins, Q.C.

Chief Executive Officer

John D.V. Hoyles

The Canadian Bar Association (CBA) is a professional, voluntary organization that represents more than 37,000 lawyers, judges, notaries, law teachers and law students from across Canada.

Currently, the CBA is particularly concerned about issues relating to the rule of law, access to justice, funding for legal aid, the independence of the legal profession, the judicial appointment process, Unified Family Courts, and the security certificates/Special Advocate regime under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

The CBA has expressed an ongoing interest in providing input to the Department of Justice during the early stages of development of legislative proposals, in particular those relating to criminal law and youth justice.

Federation of Law Societies of Canada

President

Thomas G. Conway

Chief Executive Officer

Jonathan G. Herman

The Federation of Law Societies of Canada (FLSC) is the national coordinating body of Canada's 14 law societies, which are mandated by provincial and territorial statutes to regulate the country's 100,000 lawyers and Quebec's 4000 notaries in the public interest.

Currently, issues of interest to the FLSC include: access to the legal profession, lawyer mobility, solicitor-client privilege, law office searches, legal aid, access to justice, the appointment of judges, the Special Advocate regime under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, mandatory continuing professional development (accreditation), international trade agreements and legal services, and international development projects.

Barreau du Québec

Bâtonnière

Me Claudia P. Prémont

Executive Director

Me Lise Tremblay

The Barreau du Québec has more than 24,000 members. It is active in providing input on various legislative initiatives, amendments to the Criminal Code and related federal statutes.

Chambre des notaires du Québec

President

Me Gérard Guay

Director General

Jacques Desforges

The Chambre des notaires du Québec supervises the training and admission of candidates to the notarial profession in Quebec. There are approximately 4000 notaries in Quebec.

Law Enforcement Organizations

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police

President

Chief of Police

Clive Weighill, C.O.M. Saskatoon Police Service

The Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP) is dedicated to the support and promotion of efficient law enforcement and to the protection and security of the Canadian public. Its membership totals approximately 1,000 police chiefs throughout Canada, 400 of whom are active members.

CACP committees liaise with various levels of government and departments having legislative and executive responsibility in law and policing. CACP initiatives are reported on at the annual CACP conference.

Currently, the CACP has a particular interest in issues such as lawful access to encrypted electronic media, non-returnable warrants, DNA legislation and organized crime law reform.

Canadian Association of Police Boards

President Cathryn Palmer Edmonton Police Commission

The Canadian Association of Police Boards (CAPB) is a non-profit, nationally incorporated organization dedicated to representing the views of municipal police governing authorities across Canada. The CAPB represents approximately 75 municipal police boards and commissions across Canada that together employ in excess of 35,000 police personnel (approximately three-quarters of the municipal police personnel in Canada). Their mission is to work collaboratively and proactively to improve police governance in Canada and to bring about change that will enhance public safety for all Canadians.

Currently, the CAPB is interested in examining how the Department of Justice can work with police and policing associations in moving forward on tackling crime. Specifically, the CAPB is concerned about issues such as illegal firearms and first response to terror events. The CAPB has also called for a comprehensive Canadian cyber-crime strategy.

Canadian Police Association

President

Tom Stamatakis

The Canadian Police Association (CPA) is the national voice for 52,000 police personnel across Canada. Membership includes police personnel serving in 160 police services across the country, members of the RCMP, railway police and First Nations police personnel.

Broad issues of interest to the CPA that relate to the Department of Justice include judicial advisory committee membership, conditional sentences, mandatory minimum penalties, dangerous offenders, drug- impaired driving, drug crime, firearms offences, non-returnable warrants, cyber-crime, youth crime and victims.

Victims' Organizations

Canadian Resource Centre for Victims of Crime

Chair

Susheel Gupta

Executive Director

Heidi Illingworth

The Canadian Resource Centre of Victims of Crime (CRCVC) is a national organization that advocates for victims and survivors of violent crime in Canada. It lobbies for victims' rights by presenting the interests and perspectives of victims of crime to governments at all levels.

Association québécoise Plaidoyer-Victimes

President

Arlène Gaudreault

The Association Québécoise Plaidoyer-Victimes (AQPV) is a provincial organization that promotes and defends the rights and interests of victims of crime in Quebec. The organization also coordinates activities between stakeholders, peer counselling networks and community organizations with regard to victims and victimization.

Victims of Violence

President

Sharon Rosenfeldt

Victims of Violence is a federally registered charitable organization. It provides support and assistance to victims of violent crime and assists families of missing children in the search for their loved ones. They have a recognized missing children program through the RCMP.

Association des familles de personnes assassinées ou disparues

President

Réjean Talbot

The Association des familles de personnes assassinées ou disparues (AFPAD) is a non-profit organization based in Quebec. The Association acts on behalf of over 500 families of murdered or missing people. It provides such services as:

  • psychological support and guidance on dealing with the media;
  • legal and administrative support;
  • conferences with legal advisors, criminologists, magistrates, lawyers, police officers, psychologists, reporters;
  • congresses with magistrates, lawyers, and psychologists; and
  • support for families at preliminary hearings and legal proceedings.

Canadian Crime Victim Foundation

Director

Randy Carroll

The Canadian Crime Victim Foundation (CCVF) is a federally registered charitable organization that supports, empowers and provides resources to victims of crime. It works in cooperation and partnership with public based services and programs to educate and provide support to police officers and front line staff on victims' needs.

Ending Violence Association of BC

Executive Director

Tracy Porteous

The Ending Violence Association of BC (EVA BC) is a charitable, non-profit organization that provides services to over 200 anti-violence programs across British Columbia. It coordinates and supports the work of victim-serving and other anti-violence programs in BC through the provision of issue-based consultation and analysis, resource development, training, research and education.

Mothers Against Drunk Driving

President

Angeliki Souranis

Chief Executive Officer

Andrew Murie

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD Canada) is a charitable, grassroots organization that is committed to stopping impaired driving. It offers support services to victims, and provides awareness about the dangers of impaired driving by alcohol and/or drugs.

Date modified:

Cahier d'information à l'intention de la ministre de la Justice du Canada

Organismes du domaine de la justice

Organismes de la magistrature

Conseil canadien de la magistrature

Présidente

La très honorable Beverley McLachlin, C.P.

Directeur exécutif et avocat général Norman Sabourin

Le Conseil canadien de la magistrature (CCM) comprend tous les juges en chef et juges en chef adjoints des cours supérieures, ainsi que les juges principaux de la Cour de justice du Nunavut, de la Cour suprême du Yukon et de la Cour suprême des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (39 membres). Il a été créé pour aider à promouvoir l'efficacité, l'uniformité et la responsabilité et pour améliorer la qualité des services judiciaires dans les cours supérieures du Canada.

Par la loi, il est chargé de recevoir et d'examiner les plaintes concernant les juges de cours supérieures et, en cas d'enquête officielle, en transmet les conclusions au ministre de la Justice.

Le CCM joue un rôle principal dans le domaine de l'éducation judiciaire en approuvant la tenue et le financement de séminaires éducatifs en vertu de la Loi sur les juges. Il prend position sur d'autres questions touchant la magistrature, notamment en ce qui concerne la rémunération.

Le Conseil se réunit deux fois par année, habituellement au printemps et à l'automne. Le ministre de la Justice est toujours invité à prendre la parole à ces réunions.

Association canadienne des juges des cours supérieures

Président

L'honorable Mark McEwan

Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique, Nelson (C.-B.)

L'Association canadienne des juges des cours supérieures (ACJCS) est une association volontaire composée majoritairement de juges puînés, même si certains juges en chef en sont également membres. Elle a pour principale mission de parler au nom des juges des cours supérieures concernant leur rémunération et d'autres enjeux connexes, que ce soit au ministre de la Justice, au ministère de la Justice ou au gouvernement dans son ensemble.

L'ACJCS mène ses activités au moyen de 15 comités dont les membres proviennent des quatre coins du pays pour aborder notamment la rémunération, la conduite des juges, l'accès à la justice, l'éducation juridique du public, ainsi que l'indépendance de la magistrature. L'Association joue aussi un rôle actif au sein de deux groupes internationaux : la Commonwealth Magistrates' and Judges' Association (Association des juges et magistrats du Commonwealth), qui est actuellement présidée par un juge canadien, l'honorable John Vertes, et l'Union internationale des magistrats, où le juge Robert A. Blair, de la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario, y représente l'ACJCS

     [Les renseignements ont été retranchés, conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. s.21(1)(a)]     

L'ACJCS tient une assemblée annuelle, d'habitude en conjonction avec l'assemblée annuelle de l'Association du Barreau canadien. Une invitation à prendre la parole au dîner ou au souper est habituellement envoyée au ministre de la Justice à cette occasion.

Conseil canadien des juges en chef

Le poste de directeur exécutif est occupé en alternance par l'un des juges en chef provinciaux

Le Conseil canadien des juges en chef (CCJC) est un organisme volontaire dont les membres sont des juges en chef et des juges en chef adjoints provinciaux et territoriaux. Même si l'organisme a des intérêts analogues à ceux de l'Association canadienne des juges de Cours provinciales, ses membres, en qualité de gestionnaires magistrats des cours provinciales, ont des objectifs et des points de vue distincts. Les enjeux auxquels s'est intéressé le CCJC sont notamment les structures des cours, le financement de la formation des juges et les consultations en matière de réforme du droit pénal.

Association canadienne des juges des Cours provinciales

Présidente

Juge Lee Ann Martin

Cour provinciale du Manitoba

L'Association canadienne des juges des Cours provinciales (ACJCP) est une association volontaire de juges nommés par les provinces. Elle s'occupe principalement de promouvoir les intérêts de ses membres, notamment leurs conditions de travail, leur situation et l'éducation juridique permanente.

Le ministère de la Justice consulte régulièrement l'ACJCP en ce qui a trait aux grandes initiatives en matière de droit pénal et à la mise en œuvre des programmes qui ont une incidence sur les cours provinciales. L'ACJCP reçoit annuellement un financement de base du ministère de la Justice et en général, le ministre de la Justice rencontre l'ACJCP annuellement.

Institut national de la magistrature

Présidente

La très honorable Beverley McLachlin, C.P.

Directrice exécutive

L'honorable juge C. Adèle Kent

Cour du Banc de la Reine de l'Alberta

Le gouvernement fédéral et le ministère de la Justice appuient fermement le concept d'un centre national de formation des juges de nomination fédérale et provinciale. Cet appui a abouti à la création de l'Institut national de la magistrature (INM), qui a commencé ses activités en 1988. Il est financé conjointement par le gouvernement fédéral, et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux.

L'INM offre et coordonne des services de formation des juges de tous les niveaux à l'échelle du pays. Il s'agit d'un organisme indépendant, géré par un conseil de gouverneurs composé de deux juges de cours provinciales et de trois juges de nomination fédérale. L'INM entreprend la coordination de la participation de juges canadiens à la prestation de la formation de juges à l'étranger. Son groupe de coopération internationale a géré des projets de réforme judiciaire s'échelonnant sur plusieurs années dans un grand nombre de pays, parmi lesquels on compte l'Australie, le Chili, la Chine, l'Éthiopie, le Ghana, la Jamaïque, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Pakistan, les Philippines, le Pérou, le Rwanda, la Russie et l'Écosse.

Organismes de la profession juridique

Association du Barreau canadien

Présidente

Me Michele Hollins, c.r.

Chef de la direction

Me John D.V. Hoyles

L'Association du Barreau canadien (ABC) est une association volontaire qui représente plus de 37 000 avocats, juges, notaires, professeurs de droit et étudiants en droit de toutes les régions du Canada.

Pour l'heure, l'ABC est particulièrement préoccupée par des enjeux liés à la primauté du droit, à l'accès à la justice, au financement de l'aide juridique, à l'indépendance de la profession juridique, au processus de nomination des juges, aux tribunaux unifiés de la famille ainsi qu'aux certificats de sécurité et au régime d'avocats spéciaux en vertu de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

L'ABC a manifesté son désir de transmettre ses idées au ministère de la Justice au cours des premières étapes d'élaboration de propositions législatives, notamment en ce qui a trait au droit pénal et à la justice applicable aux jeunes.

Fédération des ordres professionnels de juristes du Canada

Président

Me Thomas G. Conway

Chef de la direction

Me Jonathan G. Herman

La Fédération des ordres professionnels de juristes du Canada (FOPJC) est l'organisme national de coordination des 14 ordres professionnels de juristes canadiens qui, en vertu de la loi de leur province ou territoire, sont chargés de réglementer les 100 000 avocats du Canada et 4 000 notaires du Québec dans l'intérêt public.

Les questions qui intéressent la FOPJC à l'heure actuelle sont l'accès à la profession juridique, la mobilité des avocats, la confidentialité des communications entre l'avocat et son client, les perquisitions dans un bureau d'avocats, l'aide juridique, l'accès à la justice, la nomination des juges, le régime des avocats spéciaux en vertu de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés, le perfectionnement professionnel continu obligatoire (accréditation), les accords commerciaux et services juridiques internationaux et les projets de développement international.

Barreau du Québec

Bâtonnière

Me Claudia P. Prémont

Directrice générale

Me Lise Tremblay

Le Barreau du Québec compte plus de 24 000 membres. Il apporte activement son point de vue au sujet de diverses initiatives législatives, de modifications au Code criminel et d'autres lois fédérales connexes.

Chambre des notaires du Québec

Président

Me Gérard Guay

Directeur général

Jacques Desforges

La Chambre des notaires du Québec supervise la formation et l'admission de candidats à la profession notariale au Québec. Il y a environ 4 000 notaires au Québec.

Organismes d'application de la loi

Association canadienne des chefs de police

Président

Chef Clive Weighill, C.O.M.

Service de police de Saskatoon

L'Association canadienne des chefs de police (ACCP) veille à soutenir et à promouvoir l'application efficace de la loi ainsi que la protection et la sécurité de la population canadienne. Elle compte environ 1 000 chefs de police membres à l'échelle du Canada, dont 400 sont des membres actifs.

Les comités de l'ACCP assurent la liaison avec les divers ordres de gouvernement et ministères puisqu'ils sont chargés par la loi d'assurer le maintien de l'ordre. Les initiatives de l'ACCP sont soulignées lors de son Congrès annuel.

À l'heure actuelle, l'ACCP se penche particulièrement sur les questions d'accès légitime aux médias électroniques chiffrés, les mandats non retournables, les mesures législatives sur les empreintes génétiques ainsi que la réforme de la loi sur le crime organisé.

Association canadienne des commissions de police

Présidente Cathryn Palmer Commission de police d'Edmonton

L'Association canadienne des commissions de police (ACCP) est un organisme sans but lucratif incorporé à l'échelle nationale représentant les opinions des autorités municipales de la police au Canada. Elle représente environ 75 commissions de police municipale du Canada qui emploient plus de 35 000 policiers (environ trois quarts du personnel policier municipal au Canada). Elle a pour mission de travailler en collaboration et de façon proactive à l'amélioration de la gouvernance de la police au Canada et de susciter un changement qui rehaussera la sécurité de toutes les Canadiennes et de tous les Canadiens.

L'ACCP examine actuellement comment le ministère de la Justice peut collaborer avec les associations chargées du maintien de l'ordre et de la lutte contre le crime. Elle est particulièrement préoccupée par des questions comme les armes à feu illicites et l'intervention rapide en cas d'actes de terrorisme. Elle demande également une stratégie canadienne détaillée en matière de lutte contre la cybercriminalité.

Association canadienne des policiers

Président

Tom Stamatakis

L'Association canadienne des policiers (ACP) est la voix nationale de 52 000 policiers au Canada. Ses membres comprennent des policiers qui servent dans plus de 160 services de police dans le pays ainsi que des membres de la GRC, de la police des chemins de fer et de la police des Premières nations.

Les questions générales liées au ministère de la Justice qui intéressent l'ACP sont les membres du comité consultatif de la magistrature, les peines avec sursis, les peines minimales obligatoires, les délinquants dangereux, la conduite avec facultés affaiblies par la drogue, les infractions relatives aux drogues, les infractions commises avec une arme à feu, les mandats non retournables, la cybercriminalité, la criminalité chez les jeunes et les victimes.

Organismes d'aide aux victimes

Centre canadien de ressources pour les victimes de crimes

Présidente

Susheel Gupta

Directrice exécutive

Heidi Illingworth

Le Centre canadien de ressources pour les victimes de crimes (CCRVC) est un organisme national qui défend les droits des victimes et des survivants de crimes graves et violents au Canada. Il milite pour les droits des victimes en faisant valoir les intérêts et les points de vue des victimes d'actes criminels auprès des différents ordres de gouvernement.

Association québécoise Plaidoyer-Victimes

Présidente

Arlène Gaudreault

L'Association québécoise Plaidoyer-Victimes (AQPV) est un organisme provincial voué à la promotion et à la défense des droits et des intérêts des victimes d'actes criminels au Québec. L'organisme coordonne aussi des activités entre les intervenants, les réseaux d'entraide et les organismes communautaires axés sur les victimes et la victimisation.

Victimes de violence

Présidente

Sharon Rosenfeldt

Victimes de violence est un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré en vertu de la législation fédérale qui offre du soutien et de l'aide aux victimes de crimes violents et appuie dans leurs recherches les familles dont un enfant est disparu. Avec la GRC, l'organisme a mis en place un programme reconnu pour les enfants disparus.

Association des familles de personnes assassinées ou disparues

Président

Réjean Talbot

L'Association des familles de personnes assassinées ou disparues (AFPAD) est un organisme québécois sans but lucratif. L'organisme vient en aide à plus de 500 familles. Il offre les services suivants :

  • soutien psychologique et conseils pour traiter avec les médias;
  • aide juridique et administrative;
  • conférences avec des conseillers juridiques, des criminologues, des juges, des avocats, des policiers, des psychologues, des journalistes, etc.;
  • congrès avec des juges, des avocats et des psychologues;
  • soutien aux familles à l'égard des audiences préliminaires et des procédures judiciaires.

Canadian Crime Victim Foundation

Directeur

Randy Carroll

La Canadian Crime Victim Foundation (CCVF) est un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré en vertu de la législation fédérale qui soutient les victimes d'actes criminels et qui leur offre les outils et les ressources dont elles ont besoin. Elle travaille en collaboration et en partenariat avec des organismes qui offrent des services et des programmes aux membres du public en vue de sensibiliser et d'aider les policiers et les travailleurs de premier plan à l'égard des besoins des victimes.

Ending Violence Association of BC

Directrice exécutive

Tracy Porteous

L'Ending Violence Association of BC (EVA BC) est un organisme de bienfaisance à but non lucratif qui offre des services à plus de 200 programmes de lutte contre la violence en Colombie-Britannique. Elle coordonne et appuie le travail accompli dans le cadre de programmes d'aide aux victimes et de lutte contre la violence en C.-B. en offrant des services de consultation et d'analyse, de développement des ressources, de formation, de recherche et de sensibilisation.

Les mères contre l'alcool au volant

Présidente

Angeliki Souranis

Chef de la direction

Andrew Murie

Les mères contre l'alcool au volant (MADD Canada) est un organisme de bienfaisance dirigé par de simples citoyens et voué à la lutte contre l'alcool au volant. Il offre des services de soutien aux victimes et travaille à conscientiser la population aux dangers de la conduite avec les facultés affaiblies par l'alcool ou la drogue.

Date de modification :