Organization of the Department of Justice

The Department of Justice is headed by the Deputy Minister, who provides advice and support to the Minister and acts as the main interface between the political and administrative functions of government.

The Department of Justice is a medium-sized department with around 5,000 employees. Roughly one half of departmental staff are lawyers. The other half is made up of a broad range of professionals, including paralegals, social scientists, program managers, communications specialists, administrative services personnel, computer service professionals, and financial officers.

The Department delivers services through a mix of co-located departmental legal services units, specialized branches located within the Department of Justice and a network of six regional offices located across the country.


The organizational structure chart provides an overview of how the Department is organized, and it includes the names of those who occupy key leadership positions.

Chart Chart – Organization of the Department of Justice Minister and Attorney General of Canada The Hon. Arif Virani, P.C., M.P. Federal Ombudsperson for Victims of Crime Benjamin Roebuck Deputy Minister and Deputy Attorney General of Canada Shalene Curtis-Micallef Associate Deputy Minister Jean-François Fortin Associate Deputy Minister Isabelle T. Jacques Chief General Counsel Chris Rupar Ombuds, Ombuds and Informal Resolution Services Office Sonya Kim St-Julien Acting Chief Audit and Evaluation Executive Danielle Payant Director General Communications Shirley Anne Off ADM Indigenous Rights and Relations Portfolio Laurie Sargent ADM Public Safety, Defence and Immigration Portfolio Samantha Maislin Dickson Acting ADM Tax Law Services Portfolio Jade Boucher ADM Business and Regulatory Law Portfolio Andrew Saranchuk Acting ADM Central Agencies Portfolio Heather Beaton SADM Policy Sector Michael Sousa Acting ADAG National Litigation Sector Sarah Geh ADM Public Law and Legislative Service Sector Nancy Othmer ADM and CFO Management Sector Bill Kroll Counsel to the Clerk and ADM, Privy Council Office Legal Services Sector Jodie van Dieen SADM Senior Assistant Deputy Minister ADM Assistant Deputy Minister ADAG Assistant Deputy Attorney General CFO Chief Financial Officer

Text version