Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award?

The Department of Justice Canada (DOJ), in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP) and the Canadian Police Association (CPA), is pleased to present the Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award 2022.

The Award recognizes police officers and others involved in police-led initiatives who develop innovative approaches or promising practices that go beyond the formal court system when dealing with youth in conflict with the law through the application of Youth Criminal Justice Act principles and provisions.

Who is eligible for this award?

Police officers and others involved in police-led initiatives, who individually or as a team, apply Youth Criminal Justice Act principles and provisions in innovative and creative ways when working with youth in conflict with the law. Particular consideration will be given for projects that respond to the needs of, or display sensitivity toward, Indigenous youth, marginalized youth, vulnerable youth, or other populations of concern. Nominations will be accepted for initiatives that were active between January 1st, 2019 and December 31st, 2022, regardless of when they first began.

Who can nominate candidates for the Award?

Police Services, community groups, Justice Officials and citizens are eligible to nominate police officers for this award. Individual police officers may nominate their colleagues.

Any nominations made, whether by a member of a police service, a community organization or an individual, must be accompanied by a letter and signed by the Chief of Police, Director or Commanding Officer of the agency concerned.

How do I nominate a candidate or team for the Award?

Complete and submit the online Nomination Form. Only one nomination form is required if you are nominating a team.

You may also complete and forward the printable Nomination Form to the coordinates below.

BY EMAIL (preferred)

BY MAIL (if necessary)

Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award
Department of Justice
Youth Justice and Strategic Initiatives
360 Albert Street, 9th Floor
Ottawa, ON K1A 0H8

Nominations may also be submitted by fax at (613) 954-3275.

Do I need to send anything other than the Nomination Form?

If available, you can also include supporting press clippings, citations, letters of appreciation, photographs, etc.

PLEASE NOTE: If the award winner is from Québec, additional information may be required.

What is the deadline for nominations?

Nominations for this year's award must be received by July 4, 2022.

Who selects the winner?

The winner is selected by an Awards Committee consisting of representatives from the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, the Canadian Police Association and officials from the Department of Justice Canada.

When will this year's Award be presented?

This year's award will be presented at the Canadian Police Association Biennial Conference to be held August 24th, 2022 in Fredericton, NB.

What does the winner receive?

The winner's name is inscribed on a trophy which remains with the winning police service for a year; they also receive a smaller version of the trophy which is kept by the individual or the team. A Certificate of Recognition is given to all winners.

In addition, $10,000.00 in funding is presented in the name of the winner to the successful police service or community organization (in the case of the RCMP or other federal entity) to support the program that was nominated.

The winner's expenses are covered for up to three nights stay at the presentation ceremony. Please note that for team nominations, only two team representatives will be covered.

Previous Winners

The Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award was established in 2000. Here are the previous award recipients: