Department of Justice Canada Minister's Transition Book

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Justice Relations

Justice FPT Environment

The meeting of Federal-Provincial-Territorial (FPT) Ministers Responsible for Justice and Public Safety is an environment where ministers and deputy ministers work collaboratively on issues that address the concerns of Canadian citizens. There is a long-standing tradition of working cooperatively to meet the needs of all jurisdictions. The forum is attended by federal, provincial and territorial ministers of Justice, Public Safety and Corrections, attorneys general, and those having responsibilities for youth justice.

Annual Meeting of FPT Ministers Responsible for Justice and Public Safety

This meeting, held annually (usually in October), allows ministers to discuss justice and public safety issues and priorities requiring their direction or decision. The last FPT Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Justice and Public Safety took place on October 15 and 16, 2014, in Banff. The next meeting is scheduled to take place in early 2016, in Québec City (Québec).

The Minister of Justice co-chairs the meeting with the Minister of Public Safety and the Minister of the province or territory where the meeting is held.

Key topics discussed in the last several ministerial meetings include criminal justice reform, access to justice, cumulative impact of justice reforms, youth justice, legal aid and related funding issues, drug issues, cyber-crime, impaired driving, organized crime and mental health.

Bilateral meetings with Ministers

The Minister of Justice meets individually with the provincial and territorial ministers of justice and attorneys general as needed. These meetings are usually at the request of the provincial/territorial minister.

Bi-annual Meeting of FPT Deputy Ministers Responsible for Justice and Public Safety

There are meetings twice a year as well as conference calls at the deputy minister-level to discuss emerging and continuing issues, to review trends and to develop new strategies and approaches.

The last meeting of Deputy Ministers Responsible for Justice and Public Safety was held on June 10, 2015, in Winnipeg (Manitoba). The next meeting is scheduled to take place in June 2016.

FPT Structures

Regular meetings at the officials-level support the development of options for deputy minister and ministerial consideration.

Discussions between federal, provincial and territorial governments occur in a variety of structures, including both continuing and time- limited committees. Examples of continuing committees are:

Some of these committees have sub-committees, usually referred to as working groups. Working groups may be established by deputy ministers or at the suggestion of ministers. Mandates of all working groups and CCSOs are approved by FPT deputy ministers.

List of members*
Government Department or Ministry Minister Deputy Minister
Canada Justice and Attorney General   William F Pentney, Q.C.
Public Prosecution Service of Canada Brian Saunders (Director of Public Prosecution)
Public Safety   François Guimont
Newfoundland and Labrador Justice and Public Safety Darin King Paul Noble
Attorney General Felix Collins
Prince Edward Island Premier of PEI Justice, Attorney General and Public Safety H. Wade MacLauchlan Erin Mitchell
Nova Scotia Justice and Attorney General Diana C. Whalen Tilly Pillay, Q.C.
Public Prosecution Service (Justice)   Martin E Herschorn (Public Prosecutions)
New Brunswick Justice and Solicitor General Stephen Horsman Johanne Bray
Public Safety Graig Dalton
Quebec Justice and Attorney General Stéphanie Vallée Nathalie G. Drouin
Criminal and Penal Prosecutions  

Annick Murphy (Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions)
Public Security Lise Thériault Denis Marsolais
Ontario Attorney General Madeleine Meilleur Patrick Monahan
Community Safety Yasir Naqvi Matt Torigian
Correctional Services Stephen Rhodes
Manitoba Justice and Attorney General Gord Mackintosh Donna Miller
Saskatchewan Justice and Attorney General Gordon Wyant Kevin Fenwick
Corrections and Policing Christine Tell Dale McFee
Alberta Justice and Solicitor General Kathleen Ganley Philip Bryden
Attorney General

Curtis Clarke (Associate Deputy Solicitor General)
British Columbia Justice and Attorney General Suzanne Anton Lori Wanamaker (Deputy Solicitor General and Deputy Minister)
Richard Fyfe (Deputy Attorney General)
Yukon Justice Brad Cathers Thomas Ullyett
Northwest Territory Justice David Ramsay Sylvia Haener
Nunavut Justice Paul Okalik Elizabeth Sanderson

*See biographical notes of Ministers of Justice and Attorneys General.