Fact Sheet: Third Party Records Application – Her Majesty the Queen v. Mark Norman

Background

On October 12, 2018, defence counsel in the matter of Her Majesty The Queen v Mark Norman filed a Notice of Application for Third Party Records seeking documents from seven government organizations.

Those seven organizations are: the Department of National Defence, Public Services and Procurement Canada, the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, the Department of Justice Canada, Treasury Board Secretariat, Privy Council Office, and the Prime Minister’s Office.

The Attorney General of Canada and the Public Prosecution Service of Canada have distinct roles in relation to the request for documents and the prosecution itself. Here is a description of those roles:

  • Role of the Attorney General of Canada (Crown legal counsel)
    Counsel for the Attorney General of Canada, on behalf of the organizations mentioned above, is providing these documents to the Court in instalments as directed by the judge for her review.
  • Role of the Public Prosecution Service of Canada (PPSC)
    As with all federal criminal prosecutions, the prosecution in this case is led by the Public Prosecution Service of Canada (PPSC), which is independent from the Department of Justice. The PPSC was created on December 12, 2006, by the Director of Public Prosecutions Act. Questions on the prosecution of this case should be directed to the PPSC.

Process

The process for the identification, review and production of documents follows a two stage process set out by the Supreme Court of Canada case of R v O’Connor

First Stage:

  • At the first stage, the judge identifies which documents are likely relevant to the criminal proceeding.
  • At this stage, prosecutors from the Public Prosecution Service of Canada, defence counsel, and counsel for third parties (from the Department of Justice, representing the government departments involved in the third party disclosure) all make submissions to the Court as to which documents do or do not satisfy this “likely relevance” step.
  • The judge presiding over the case then makes a ruling identifying which documents she deems likely relevant to the case.

Second Stage:

  • At the second stage, the judge evaluates whether the documents provided on behalf of the third parties, which met the first threshold outlined above, are actually relevant to the proceedings. 
  • The judge also assesses any claims of solicitor-client and litigation privilege, public interest immunity (such as Cabinet confidences) and privacy interests in the documents, and balances the competing interests.
  • Any documents that the judge determines are relevant to the proceedings are then disclosed to the Crown and defence counsel, subject to any valid claims of privilege, public interest immunity or privacy.

Please note that, pursuant to the Access to Information Act, any access to information (ATI) requests related to this case will be processed by the department or agency in which the documents originated.

Updates

As of May 8, 2019, when a stay of proceedings was granted in the matter, a total of 8,018 documents had been provided to the court.

Date modified:

Fiche de renseignements : Communication de documents en la possession de tierces parties – Sa Majesté la Reine c. Mark Norman

Contexte

Le 12 octobre 2018, l’avocat de la défense dans l’affaire Sa Majesté la Reine c. Mark Norman a déposé un avis de Demande de communication de documents en la possession de tierces parties afin d’obtenir des documents en la possession de sept organismes gouvernementaux.

Ces sept organismes sont : le ministère de la Défense nationale, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada, l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique, le ministère de la Justice du Canada, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, le Bureau du Conseil privé et le Cabinet du Premier ministre.

Le procureur général du Canada et le Service des poursuites pénales ont des rôles distincts dans le cadre de la demande de communication des documents et la poursuite même. Voici une description des rôles :

  • Rôle du procureur général du Canada (avocat de la Couronne)
    L’avocat du procureur général du Canada, au nom des organismes mentionnés ci-dessus, fournit ces documents à la Cour par tranches, ainsi que la juge en fait la demande pour pouvoir les examiner.
  • Rôle du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada (SPPC)
    À l’instar de toutes les poursuites fédérales en matière pénale, la poursuite dans la présente affaire est menée par le Service des poursuites pénales du Canada (SPPC), qui est indépendant du ministère de la Justice. Le SPPC a été créé le 12 décembre 2006 par la Loi sur le directeur des poursuites pénales. Les questions sur la poursuite dans cette affaire doivent être adressées au SPPC.

Processus

Le processus de désignation, d’examen et de remise des documents suit un processus en deux étapes établi par la Cour suprême du Canada dans l’affaire R c. O’Connor :

Première étape :

  • À la première étape, la juge détermine quels documents sont vraisemblablement pertinents à l’égard de l’instance pénale.
  • À cette étape, les procureurs du Service des poursuites pénales du Canada, l’avocat de la défense et l’avocat des tierces parties (du ministère de la Justice, représentant les ministères qui participent à la communication de documents en la possession de tierces parties) présentent tous à la Cour des observations sur la question de savoir quels documents satisfont ou non à ce critère de la « pertinence vraisemblable ».
  • La juge qui préside l’affaire rend ensuite une décision dans laquelle elle indique quels sont les documents qu’elle estime pertinents relativement à l’affaire.

Deuxième étape :

  • À la deuxième étape, la juge évalue si les documents fournis au nom des tierces parties, qui ont satisfait au premier critère énoncé ci-dessus, sont réellement pertinents relativement à l’instance. 
  • La juge se penche aussi sur les allégations, le cas échéant, de secret professionnel de l’avocat et de privilège relatif au litige, d’immunité d’intérêt public (comme les documents confidentiels du Cabinet) et de droit au respect de la vie privée à l’égard des documents, et soupèse les intérêts divergents.
  • Tout document jugé pertinent relativement à l’instance par la juge est ensuite communiqué aux avocats de la Couronne et de la défense, sous réserve de toute allégation valide de privilège, d’immunité d’intérêt public ou de droit au respect de la vie privée.

Veuillez noter que, conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, toute demande d’accès à l’information (AI) liée à cette affaire sera traitée par le ministère ou l’organisme dans lequel les documents ont été créés.

Mises à jour

À partir du 8 mai 2019, lors du sursis de l’instance, un nombre total de 8018 documents ont été soumis au tribunal.

Date de modification :