Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award

2000 Winners

Constable Willie Ducharme and Constable Rick Kosowan
Winnipeg Police Service

Constables Willie Ducharme and Rick Kosowan were the first recipients of a national award from the federal Minister of Justice. The two constables were posted to Winnipeg's North End, an area with a high population of Aboriginal people, which faces issues such as low incomes, many single parent families and a high incidence of alcohol and drug abuse. Aboriginal Elder Art Shofley taught them about the role of the peacekeeper/warrior in traditional Aboriginal society and encouraged them to re-create the tradition of the Spring Feast. Willie and Rick contacted the Indian and Metis Friendship Centre where they secured an offer of a place to hold the feast. The event provided them with an innovative introduction to the community and it has become an annual event with the two officers still at its centre.

Rick and Willie took training and became Community Justice Forum facilitators. They looked for opportunities to use the justice forum approach to deal with young people who had committed some minor offence, but for whom criminal charges and court didn't appear to be the best solution. A number of young people in trouble with the law have participated in Community Justice Forums run by these two officers.

Certificates of Distinction

Constable Ian Burke
Halifax Regional Police - Bullying Hotline

Sergeant Mark Houldsworth
Ottawa-Carleton Regional Police Service - Early Identification/Early Intervention program

Constable Richard Schaaf
Vancouver Police Department - Car 177 and Pet Care programs

Constable Andrew Tolchard
RCMP-Ridge Meadows Detachment - Family Group Conferencing

Previous Winners

The Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award was established in 2000. Here are the previous award recipients: