Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award

2009 Winner

Constable Andria Cowan
Toronto Police Service

Constable Andria Cowan

Constable Andria Cowan of the Toronto Police Service was the recipient of the 2009 Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Award for her work with the Argos Foundation Youth Mentorship Program.

In 2005, Constable Cowan joined the Argos Foundation's Stop the Violence initiative. The Argos Foundation is the charitable arm of the Toronto Argonauts Football Club. Its Stop the Violence initiative is committed to reducing gun violence in Toronto, empowering youth through mentorship, educating youth about the perils of gun and gang involvement, and supporting youth-led violence prevention and intervention initiatives.

Through the initiative's Youth Mentorship Program, Toronto Argonaut players visit and mentor youth inside a full-custody youth centre. This effort began as a pilot project in 2006 with a start-up grant from the Department of Justice through the Youth Justice Renewal Fund.

Previous Winners

The Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award was established in 2000. Here are the previous award recipients: