Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award

2001 Winner

Constable Max Morin
RCMP, Ahousaht Satellite Detachment

Constable Max Morin

The Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award for 2001 was awarded to Constable Max Morin to honour his success in building trusting and respectful relationships with young people in trouble with the law that has helped them turn their lives around.

Constable Morin has shown imaginative leadership in starting and supporting a number of innovative projects involving native youth. These have included educational field trips, encouraging careers in law enforcement, active participation in healing circles, and discussions involving young offenders, victims and families. An important element in his work involves the creation of active partnerships with other community-based resources. In this role, he frequently works with counsellors and youth, and native care workers employed by the Ahousaht Holistic Centre. He also has excellent relationships with Band counsellors, elders and hereditary chiefs. Their support is vital to his alternative justice projects. Family circles, talking circles, and circle sentencing are just some of the options which Constable Morin has used as an alternative to the court system.

Certificates of Distinction

Sergeant Dave Dort RCMP, Grand Falls/Windsor District - Restorative justice program

Sergeant Dave Dort

Constable John T. Kennedy RCMP, Stellarton District - Adopt a Library Literacy Program

Constable John T. Kennedy

Previous Winners

The Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award was established in 2000. Here are the previous award recipients: