State of the Criminal Justice System Dashboard

Data Development

Key Partners

The criminal justice system (CJS) plays a critical role in ensuring the overall safety, wellness and productivity of Canadians. Helping Canadians feel safe in their communities and have confidence in their justice system improves their quality of life, as well as their contribution to Canada’s prosperity. Reporting of various CJS performance measurements is dependent on a number of key partners, including:

Correctional Service of Canada

The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) helps protect society by encouraging offenders to become law-abiding citizens while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control. CSC is responsible for managing offenders sentenced to two years or more in federal correctional institutions and under community supervision.

https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/

Office of the Correctional Investigator

As the ombudsman for federally sentenced offenders, the Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) serves Canadians and contributes to safe, lawful and humane corrections through independent oversight of the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) by providing accessible, impartial and timely investigation of individual and systemic concerns.

https://www.oci-bec.gc.ca/

Parole Board of Canada

The Parole Board of Canada (PBC) is an independent administrative tribunal that is part of the Canadian criminal justice system. It contributes to the protection of society by facilitating, as appropriate, the timely reintegration of offenders as law-abiding citizens through quality conditional release decisions. The PBC also makes record suspension and expungement decisions; and clemency recommendations.

https://www.canada.ca/en/parole-board.html

Public Safety Canada

Public Safety Canada was created in 2003 to ensure coordination across all federal departments and agencies responsible for national security and the safety of Canadians. Their mission is to build a safe and resilient Canada by keeping Canadians safe from a range of risks such as natural disasters, crime and terrorism. Legislation governing the Department sets out three essential roles: 1) support the Minister’s responsibility for all matters related to public safety and emergency management not assigned to another federal organization; 2) exercise leadership at the national level for national security and emergency preparedness; and 3) support the Minister’s responsibility for the coordination of entities within the Public Safety Portfolio. Public Safety Canada works with five agencies (Canada Border Services Agency, Canadian Security Intelligence Service, Correctional Service of Canada, Parole Board of Canada, Royal Canadian Mounted Police(RCMP)) and three review bodies (Civilian Review and Complaints Commission for the RCMP, Office of the Correctional Investigator and the RCMP External Review Committee), united in a single portfolio and all reporting to the Minister of Public Safety.

https://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) is Canada’s national police service, which enforces federal, provincial/territorial and municipal laws, prevents and investigates crime, and keeps Canadians safe.

http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/

Statistics Canada

In Canada, providing statistics is a federal responsibility. As Canada's central statistical office, Statistics Canada is legislated to serve this function for the whole of Canada and each of the provinces and territories. Statistics Canada produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country—its population, resources, economy, society and culture.

https://www.statcan.gc.ca/eng/

Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics, Statistics Canada

As part of Statistics Canada, the national statistical office, the Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics (CCJS) provides Canadians with key information (data, reports, infographics) on the nature and extent of crime in Canada as well as looking at the justice system as a whole. The CCJS collects and publishes data on correctional services, court outcomes, crimes, and victimization.

https://www.statcan.gc.ca/eng/subjects-start/crime_and_justice
Date modified:

Developpement de données

Tableau de bord sur l’état du système de justice pénale

Principaux partenaires

Le système de justice pénale (SJP) joue un rôle de premier plan pour ce qui est de veiller globalement à la sécurité, au mieux-être et à la productivité des Canadiens. Aider les Canadiens à se sentir en sécurité dans leurs collectivités et à avoir confiance en leur système judiciaire permet d’améliorer leur qualité de vie ainsi que leur contribution à la prospérité du Canada. L’obtention de diverses mesures du rendement du système de justice pénale dépend de plusieurs partenaires principaux, notamment les suivants :

Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel

À titre d’ombudsman auprès des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale, le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel (BEC) est au service des Canadiens et contribue à la prestation de services correctionnels sécuritaires, humains et respectueux de la loi en assurant une surveillance indépendante du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC), notamment en effectuant en temps opportun un examen impartial et accessible des préoccupations individuelles et d’ordre systémique.

https://www.oci-bec.gc.ca/

Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada

La Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada (CLCC) est un tribunal administratif indépendant qui fait partie du système de justice pénale. La CLCC contribue à la protection de la société en facilitant, le cas échéant, la réinsertion rapide des délinquants en tant que citoyens respectueux de la loi grâce aux décisions de qualité sur la mise en liberté sous condition. La CLCC prend également des décisions de suspension et de radiation du dossier; et des recommandations de clémence.

https://www.canada.ca/fr/commission-liberations-conditionnelles.html

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) est le service de police national du pays, qui est chargé de l’application des lois fédérales, provinciales/territoriales et municipales, de prévenir la criminalité, de mener des enquêtes et d’assurer la sécurité des Canadiens.

http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/

Service correctionnel du Canada

Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) contribue à la protection de la société en incitant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain. Il est chargé de la gestion des délinquants condamnés à une peine d’emprisonnement de deux ans ou plus dans les établissements correctionnels fédéraux ou avec ordonnance de surveillance dans la collectivité.

https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/

Sécurité publique Canada

Sécurité publique Canada a été créé en 2003 dans le but d’assurer la coordination entre tous les ministères et organismes fédéraux chargés de la sécurité nationale et de la sûreté des Canadiens. Son mandat est de préserver la sécurité des Canadiens contre une panoplie de dangers tels que les catastrophes naturelles, les activités criminelles et les activités liées au terrorisme, avec comme résultat stratégique l’instauration d’un Canada sécuritaire et résilient. Les lois qui régissent le Ministère établissent trois rôles essentiels : 1) appuyer la responsabilité du ministre pour toutes les questions liées à la sécurité publique et à la gestion des urgences qui ne relèvent pas d’un autre organisme fédéral; 2) exercer un leadership à l’échelle nationale en ce qui a trait à la sécurité nationale et à la protection civile; 3) appuyer la responsabilité du ministre relativement à la coordination des entités du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique et en établir les priorités stratégiques.

Le ministère de la Sécurité publique travaille avec cinq organismes (Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS), Service correctionnel du Canada, Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada, Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC)) et trois organes d’examen (Commission civile d’examen et de traitement des plaintes relatives à la GRC, Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel et Comité externe d’examen de la GRC), qui sont réunis dans un seul portefeuille et relèvent tous du ministre de la Sécurité publique.

https://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/

Statistique Canada

Au Canada, c’est au gouvernement fédéral qu’il incombe de fournir des statistiques. Aux termes de la loi, Statistique Canada, organisme central de la statistique au pays, est tenu de s’acquitter de cette tâche pour l’ensemble du Canada. Statistique Canada produit des statistiques qui aident les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à mieux comprendre leur pays – sa population, ses ressources, son économie, sa société et sa culture.

https://www.statcan.gc.ca/fra/debut

Centre canadien de la statistique juridique, Statistique Canada

Faisant partie de Statistique Canada, qui est le bureau national de la statistique, le Centre canadien de la statistique juridique (CCSJ) fournit aux Canadiens un accès à de l’information clé (données, rapports, infographiques) sur la nature et l’étendue du crime au Canada ainsi que sur le système de justice dans son ensemble. Le CCSJ recueille et publie des données sur les services correctionnels, les décisions judiciaires, la criminalité et la victimisation.

https://www.statcan.gc.ca/fra/sujets-debut/crime_et_justice
Date modified: