Learn More

State of the Criminal Justice System Dashboard

Federal Program Responses for Women

The following is a list of federally-funded programs implemented to address the unique needs of women, including culturally-relevant programming for First Nations, Inuit and Métis women and girls in the criminal justice system.

  • Correctional Programs for Women

    Women offenders have unique needs that impact the way they respond to correctional programs. The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) offers programs for women offenders within a women-centered perspective. This is meant to ensure that women's social realities and the context of their lives are recognized. These programs address problematic behaviour linked to crime, such as: violence, general crime, substance use, and sexual offending.

    These programs include:


    https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/002/002-0003-en.shtml

    Correctional Services Canada - Mother-Child Program

    The purpose of the Mother-Child Program is to foster positive relationships between federally incarcerated mothers and their children, by keeping them together where appropriate, and providing a supportive environment that promotes stability and continuity for the mother-child relationship.

    https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/politiques-et-lois/768-cd-en.shtml

    Walls to Bridges Program

    Walls to Bridges Program (W2B) courses are university or college-based classes taught in jails, prison and community correctional settings. Students who are or have been incarcerated study together with students enrolled in university/college programs. Students who successfully complete courses receive university/college credits. An important principle of W2B courses is that students from outside the correctional system are not “mentoring” or “helping” or “working with” incarcerated/criminalized students: all participants in the class are peers, learning the class content together through innovative, experiential and dialogical processes.

    http://wallstobridges.ca/what-we-do/

  • Victims and Survivor Programs

    Attending Parole Board of Canada Hearings

    Through the Victims Fund, victims of crime in Canada have the opportunity to attend Parole Board of Canada (PBC) hearings for the offender who harmed them. Victims can do so as observers or to present a victim statement.

    https://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/fund-fina/cj-jp/fund-fond/attend-audience.html

    Financial Assistance for Canadians Victimized Abroad

    Financial assistance is available to individual Canadians who are victims of specified serious violent crimes in a foreign jurisdiction for serious situations of undue hardship where no other source of financial assistance is available.

    https://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/fund-fina/cj-jp/fund-fond/abroad-etranger.html

  • Indigenous Women and Girls Specific Programming

    Aboriginal Community Safety Planning Initiative

    The Aboriginal Community Safety Planning Initiative (ACSPI) works to prevent incidents of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (MMIWG), provides a means to enhance accessibility to Restorative Justice programming and responds to the recommendations of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC).

    The ACSPI supports Indigenous communities in the development of Community Safety Plans (CSPs) which are specific to their unique circumstances. These plans identify community strengths, assets and safety and wellness goals in order for all community members to see themselves involved on a path leading toward a healthier, safer home and community life.

    https://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/cntrng-crm/crrctns/cmmnt-sft-cntrbtn-prgrm-en.aspx#a02

    Family Information Liaison Units

    Family Information Liaison Units (FILUs) provide specialized services to families of missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls. FILUs work directly with families in a culturally grounded and trauma-informed manner to gather the information they seek from government agencies and address outstanding questions about the loss of their loved ones. FILUs work directly with family members to coordinate information gathering from government agencies and services, including: the criminal justice system (police, prosecutions, corrections); social services; child protection; health services; and other Family Information Liaison Units across the country

    https://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/fund-fina/cj-jp/fund-fond/mmiw-fada/info.html

    Family Violence Prevention Program

    Indigenous Services Canada (ISC)'s Family Violence Prevention Program (FVPP) supports the day-to-day operations of 46 shelters, as well as funding for community-driven proposals for family violence prevention projects on and off reserve. The goal of the FVPP is to improve the safety and security of Indigenous women, children and families.

    https://www.sac-isc.gc.ca/eng/1100100035253/1533304683142

    Indigenous Healing Lodges

    Healing lodges are environments designed specifically for Indigenous offenders. They offer culturally appropriate services and programs to offenders in a way that incorporates Indigenous values, traditions and beliefs. The main goal is to address factors that led to their incarceration and prepare them for reintegration into society.

    At a healing lodge, the needs of offenders are addressed through teachings and ceremonies, contact with Elders, and interaction with nature. Emphasis is placed on spiritual leadership and the value of the life experiences of staff and community members who act as role models.

    https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/aboriginal/002003-2000-en.shtml

    Indigenous Women Offender Correctional Programs

    Correctional Services Canada offers separate Indigenous Women Offender Correctional Programs (IWOCP) to respond to Indigenous women's unique, culturally-related needs. The IWOCP model strikes a balance between a healing and a skills-based approach. It includes culturally-relevant teachings and ceremonies.

    https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/002/002-0004-en.shtml#piw

Click on the link above to learn more about women's experiences with the criminal justice system.

For related studies and resources, please click on the link above.

Click on the link above to learn how to share your study on the unique rights, needs or experiences of women interacting with the criminal justice system.

Date modified:

Learn More

Tableau de bord sur l’état du système de justice pénale

Interventions en matière de programme

Voici une liste des programmes financés par le gouvernement fédéral qui ont été mis en œuvre pour répondre aux besoins particuliers des femmes, y compris des programmes culturellement pertinents pour les femmes et les filles des Premières Nations, inuites et métisses dans le système de justice pénale.

  • Programmes correctionnels pour femmes

    Les délinquantes ont des préoccupations et des besoins particuliers qui ont une incidence sur leur réceptivité aux programmes correctionnels. Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) a créé des modèles de programmes correctionnels pour délinquantes se fondant sur une perspective axée sur les femmes, lesquels visent à s’assurer que l’on tienne compte de leurs réalités sociales et de leur contexte de vie. Ces programmes examinent les comportements problématiques liés au crime, notamment : la violence, la criminalité générale, la consommation de substances et les infractions sexuelles.

    Voici quelques-uns des programmes en question.


    https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/002/002-0003-fr.shtml

    Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) - Programme mère-enfant en établissement

    Le Programme mère-enfant en établissement vise à favoriser des relations positives entre les mères incarcérées dans des établissements fédéraux et leurs enfants en les gardant ensemble, lorsque c’est approprié, et en offrant un environnement favorable qui contribue à la stabilité et la continuité de la relation mère-enfant.

    https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/politiques-et-lois/768-cd-fr.shtml

    Programme « Walls to Bridges »

    Les cours offerts dans le cadre du programme Walls to Bridges (W2B) sont des cours universitaires ou collégiaux dispensés dans les prisons, les établissements pénitentiaires et les établissements correctionnels communautaires. Les étudiants qui y sont incarcérés ou l’ont été étudient avec les étudiants inscrits dans des programmes universitaires ou collégiaux. Lorsqu’ils terminent les cours avec succès, les étudiants reçoivent des crédits universitaires ou collégiaux. Un principe important des cours W2B est que les étudiants extérieurs au système correctionnel ne sont pas là pour « offrir du mentorat », « aider » ou « travailler en collaboration » avec des étudiants incarcérés ou criminalisés : plutôt, tous les participants de la classe sont des pairs, qui apprennent ensemble le contenu du cours grâce à des processus novateurs, expérientiels et dialogiques.

    http://wallstobridges.ca/what-we-do/ (anglais seulement)

  • Programmes à l’intention des personnes victimes et survivantes

    Présence aux audiences de la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada

    Le Fonds d’aide aux victimes permet aux victimes d’actes criminels au Canada d’assister aux audiences de la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada (CLCC) où comparait le contrevenant qui leur a causé du tort. Les victimes peuvent y assister en tant qu’observatrices ou pour y présenter une déclaration de la victime.

    https://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/fina-fund/jp-cj/fond-fund/audience-attend.html

    Aide financière pour les Canadiens victimes d’actes criminels à l’étranger

    Une aide financière est disponible aux Canadiens et Canadiennes qui sont victimes d’actes criminels graves et avec violence en territoire étranger pour des situations de contrainte excessive où aucune autre source d’aide financière n’est disponible.

    https://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/fina-fund/jp-cj/fond-fund/etranger-abroad.html

  • Programmes exclusifs aux femmes et filles autochtones

    Initiative en matière de planification de la sécurité des collectivités autochtones

    L’Initiative en matière de planification de la sécurité des collectivités autochtones (IPSCA) vise à prévenir les incidents de femmes et de filles autochtones disparues et assassinées (FFADA), offre un moyen d’améliorer l’accessibilité aux programmes de justice réparatrice et répond aux recommandations de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation (CVR).

    L'IPSCA aide les communautés autochtones à élaborer des plans de sécurité communautaire qui sont propres à leur situation particulière. Ces plans ciblent les forces, les atouts et les objectifs de sécurité et de bien-être de la communauté afin que tous ses membres se trouvent engagés dans une voie menant à une vie plus saine et plus sécuritaire à la maison et dans la collectivité.

    https://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/cntrng-crm/crrctns/cmmnt-sft-cntrbtn-prgrm-fr.aspx

    Unité de liaison pour l’information à l’intention des familles

    Les Unités de liaison pour l’information à l’intention des familles (ULIIF) offrent des services spécialisés aux familles des femmes et des filles autochtones disparues et assassinées. Les ULIIF travaillent directement avec les familles d’une façon qui tient compte de leur culture et du traumatisme qu’elles ont vécu pour réunir l’information qu’elles demandent aux organismes gouvernementaux et traiter des questions demeurées sans réponse au sujet de la perte de leur être cher. Les ULIIF travaillent directement avec les proches des victimes pour coordonner la collecte de l’information provenant des organismes et services gouvernementaux, comme : le système de justice pénale (police, poursuites, services correctionnels), les services sociaux, la protection de l’enfance, les services de santé et les autres Unités de liaison pour l’information à l’intention des familles à l’échelle du pays.

    https://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/fina-fund/jp-cj/fond-fund/fada-mmiw/info.html

    Programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale

    Le programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale (PPVF) de Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) soutient 46 refuges dans leurs activités courantes, ainsi que le financement de propositions pour des projets de prévention de la violence familiale pour les communautés vivant à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des réserves. Le Programme (PPFV) a pour but d’améliorer la protection et la sécurité des femmes, des filles et des familles autochtones.

    https://www.sac-isc.gc.ca/fra/1100100035253/1533304683142

    Pavillons de ressourcement pour Autochtones

    Les pavillons de ressourcement sont des environnements spécialement conçus pour les délinquants autochtones. Ils offrent aux délinquants des services et des programmes adaptés à la culture dans un milieu intégrant les valeurs, les traditions et les croyances autochtones. L'objectif principal est de s'attaquer aux facteurs qui ont contribué à leur incarcération et de les préparer à réintégrer la société.

    Dans les pavillons de ressourcement, on répond aux besoins des délinquants en leur donnant accès à des enseignements et à des cérémonies autochtones et en leur permettant d'avoir des interactions avec des Aînés ainsi qu'avec la nature. L'accent est mis sur le leadership spirituel et sur la valeur de l'expérience de vie des membres du personnel et de la collectivité, qui servent de modèles.

    https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/aboriginal/002003-2000-fr.shtml

    Programmes correctionnels pour délinquantes autochtones (PCDA)

    Le SCC propose des programmes correctionnels pour délinquantes autochtones (PCDA) distincts afin de répondre aux besoins culturels particuliers de ces délinquantes. Le modèle de ces programmes correctionnels a été conçu de manière à atteindre un équilibre entre les approches axées sur la guérison et celles qui mettent l’accent sur les compétences. Il inclut des enseignements et des cérémonies pertinents sur le plan culturel.

    https://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/002/002-0004-fr.shtml#piw

Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessus pour en savoir plus sur les expériences des femmes avec le système de justice pénale.

Pour des études et ressources connexes, veuillez cliquer sur le lien ci-dessus.

Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessus pour savoir comment partager votre étude les droits, les besoins et les expériences uniques des femmes interagissant avec le système de justice pénale.

Date modified: