Learn More

State of the Criminal Justice System Dashboard

Understanding Women's Experiences with the Criminal Justice System as Accused and Offenders

The following sections provides a brief overview of women’s experiences with the criminal justice system as accused and offenders. For additional information, click on the Studies link at the bottom of the page.

  • Women’s Pathways and Involvement in Crime

    Pathways to crime are the experiences that lead individuals to engage in criminal behaviour.Footnote 6 Targeting interventions to prevent crime, and developing policies aimed at the fair and rehabilitative treatment of offenders, requires a good understanding of these different pathways. This can only be achieved by recognizing that the experiences that lead diverse groups of women and men to engage in criminal behaviour are often different, and their needs once they have entered the system are also different.Footnote 7

    The literature on pathways to crime has often connected women’s criminalization to experiences of victimization. The victimization-criminalization continuumFootnote 8 contextualizes women’s criminal behaviour within their personal experiences of violence and victimization. Many coping strategies to victimization or pathways to crime can move women along the continuum, increasing their risk of criminal behaviour.Footnote 9 For example, most women in contact with the criminal justice system have experienced social exclusion caused by physical or sexual abuse, mental illness, poverty, homelessness, racism, and/or a history of trauma.Footnote 10 Criminalized women also often report histories of addictions, self-injury, or attempted suicide.Footnote 11 Substance use is a major factor that influences women’s involvement with crime. In fact, many women commit crimes such as theft and property offences to financially support their addiction.Footnote 12

    Although some pathways are similar among men and women, many social and economic conditions affect women more than men, such as single parenting, lack of access to affordable child care, living in poverty, lack of access to employment opportunities and unstable housing.Footnote 13

  • Women Offending

    Compared with men, women represent a small proportion of those accused of police-reported criminal incidents.Footnote 14 Women also tend to be arrested and convicted for less serious crimes than men.Footnote 15 For example, violent crimes account for a smaller proportion of crimes with a female accused, than for crimes with a male accused. In contrast, property crimes make up a larger proportion of crimes with a female accused than for crimes with a male accused.Footnote 16

    In addition, women are far less likely than men to be accused of violent crime.Footnote 17 Women accused of violent offences are often accused of committing the offence in the context of family violence or intimate partner violence and act in self-defence or in defence of their children.Footnote 18 When women engage in acts of violence, the most common victims are spouses or other intimate partners.Footnote 19

    Drug-related offences account for only a small proportion of police-reported criminal incidents by female accused.Footnote 20 International research reveals that women’s involvement in organized crime is often facilitated by familial and community networks.Footnote 21

  • Federally Incarcerated Women

    As a result of the 1990 hallmark report entitled Creating Choices: The Report of the Task Force on Federally Sentenced Women (hereafter after referred to as Creating Choices), multiple changes were implemented to improve women’s imprisonment conditions in Canada, including closing the Prison for Women and replacing it with regional correctional institutions and Indigenous healing lodges. Creating Choices also signaled the importance of viewing women’s criminality as resulting from the effects of trauma, substance use and addiction, and social isolation.Footnote 22

    In addition, the 1996 Commission of Inquiry into certain events at the Prison for Women in Kingston by the Honourable Justice L. Arbour highlighted the need for a separate woman-centred correctional system in Canada.Footnote 23 In response, gender-responsive correctional programming was introduced in Canada and includes, for example, the Women Offender Correctional Program (WOCP), which provides a holistic, gender-responsive program model.Footnote 24 It also includes the Aboriginal Women Offender Correctional Program (AWOCP ), which provides culturally relevant programming for federally incarcerated Indigenous women.Footnote 25 Effective programming, along with employment opportunities, can help offenders successfully reintegrate into the community. However, the timing of access to programming is an issue, especially for women serving shorter sentences. They are often unable to complete the programming before they are released from correctional institutions and so are not able to fully benefit from the programs designed for reintegration.Footnote 26

    Although women represent a small proportion of incarcerated individuals, they are the fastest growing prisoner population.Footnote 27 In Canada, the rate of women in federal penitentiaries has increased 50% over the past 20 years.Footnote 28

    To help the successful reintegration of women offenders, they must be given the opportunity to work on their criminogenic needs, especially within the prison context or through community-based programs.Footnote 29 These needs must be appropriately addressed via trauma and violence-informed, as well as gender-responsive approaches, programming and/or treatment to reduce the likelihood of re-offending.Footnote 30 Criminogenic needs are typically grouped into the following seven domains:

    “incarcerated women’s lives reflect those of the most marginalized women in our communities who lack access to housing, physical and sexual safety, employment, and mental health and addictions treatment” (Balfour 2020, 161).
    • Employment/education – which assesses the offender’s employment history and education attainment;
    • Community functioning – which assesses factors such as housing and poverty;
    • Marital/family – which assesses the offender’s family situation;
    • Associates – which examines the social entourage of the offender;
    • Personal/emotional – assesses the various personality and emotional traits of the offender;
    • Attitude – assesses the offender’s pro-social views; and,
    • Substance use and addiction – assesses the presence of current or past substance use issues.

    In most criminogenic domains, incarcerated women are more likely to have a moderate/high need than incarcerated men. For example, incarcerated women are more likely to have an incomplete high school education and were unemployed at the time of arrest compared to their male counterparts.Footnote 31 In addition, many incarcerated women have children or other dependents at home, which can lead to increased anxieties when separated from them.Footnote 32 Research has also revealed negative effects for both mothers and their children due to this separation.Footnote 33 Although the Correctional Service of Canada offers the Mother-Child Program, the program has a history of low participation rates due to the rigorous screening required to participate to ensure the safety of everyone involved.Footnote 34

    Another example of the different needs of incarcerated women is the disproportionately high number of incarcerated women with mental health issues compared to incarcerated men, as well as the general population. In fact, many federally incarcerated women meet the criteria for a mental disorder, have low psychological and social functioning, and some have been hospitalized for psychiatric reasons prior to incarceration.Footnote 35 In addition, incidents of self-harming in federal correctional institutions are on the rise and disproportionately common among women.Footnote 36 Most women who engage in self-harm do so as a coping strategy to deal with emotions and histories of trauma.Footnote 37

    In 2017, the Auditor General indicated that federal institutions do not have “sufficient capacity to deliver the mental health services that women offenders needed.”Footnote 38 This is of particular concern because illnesses can be exacerbated by prison conditions and, if they lead to disruptive behaviour, self-harm or violence, they can result in even more restrictive and punitive conditions of detention.Footnote 39 Although this highlights the need for appropriate health and mental health care in federal institutions, research has also shown that the prison environment is often not conducive to therapeutic interventions and healing.Footnote 40 Specifically, certain aspects of the prison environment, such as isolation, confinement, and a focus on security, can interfere with best practices for treating the most serious mental health issues. Trauma and violence-informed practices and interventions are an important tool to meet the needs of criminalized women, particularly those who have histories of abuse and who engage in self-injury.

  • Women’s Reintegration into the Community

    Women released from prison do not usually pose a significant risk to the community. They tend to have low levels of recidivism and when they do re-offend, their crimes typically do not increase in severity.Footnote 41 Advocacy groups such as the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies have argued that this low risk of re-offending should be considered when planning for the release of criminalized women.

    Early release from prison can help women successfully reintegrate into the community. However, many incarcerated women are on waitlists for correctional programming and community housing plans, which ultimately affects their eligibility for parole.Footnote 42 Other barriers to a successful community reintegration include:

    • meeting numerous and strict parole conditions;
    • finding housing and employment;
    • obtaining health and mental health care;
    • obtaining treatment for substance use issues;
    • obtaining social assistance and/or having financial stability;
    • reuniting with children and families; and,
    • dealing with the stigma of their criminalized status.Footnote 43

    Leaving these issues unaddressed can result in women living in unsafe situations and can increase their risk for victimization and re-offending. Due to the unique experiences and needs of criminalized women, it is important for them to have access to gender-responsive resources.

  • Gender-Responsive Approaches

    A gender-responsiveFootnote 44 understanding of criminalization is essential because women’s experiences and pathways to crime are different from men’s.Footnote 45 A gender-responsive approach recognizes that women’s pathways into criminalization are connected to experiences of victimization and the effects of trauma. Developing policies, programs and procedures that reflect these differences can improve the management, programming and service delivery models for women offenders, while also being culturally appropriate and non-discriminatory.Footnote 46

    Gender-responsive approaches include the following guiding principles:

    Gender-responsive approaches “require an acknowledgement of the lived realities of women’s lives, including the pathways they travel to criminal offending and the relationships that shape their lives” (Bloom et al. 2003, 2).
    • acknowledge and show how gender and other intersecting identity factors make a difference in how people experience the criminal justice system;
    • create trauma- and violence-informed environment based on safety, dignity, and respect;
    • address substance use, trauma, and mental health issues through comprehensive, integrated, and culturally relevant services and appropriate supervision;
    • dedicate more resources to studying the experiences of women in the criminal justice system, particularly women with other intersecting identity factors;
    • develop policies, practices, and programs that are relational and promote healthy connections to children, family, and significant others;
    • provide women with opportunities to improve their socio-economic conditions; and,
    • establish a system of community supervision and re-entry with comprehensive, collaborative services.Footnote 47

For related studies and resources, please click on the link above.

Click on the link above to learn how to share your study on the unique rights, needs or experiences of women interacting with the criminal justice system.

Date modified:

Learn More

Tableau de bord sur l’état du système de justice pénale

Comprendre les expériences vécues par les femmes avec le système de justice pénale en tant qu’accusées et délinquantes

Les sections suivantes offrent un bref aperçu des expériences vécues par les femmes avec le système de justice pénale en tant qu’accusées et délinquantes. Pour de plus amples renseignements, cliquez sur le lien Études au bas de la page.

  • Cheminement des femmes et participation à la criminalité

    Le cheminement criminel est constitué des expériences qui conduisent les personnes à adopter un comportement criminel Note de bas de page 6. Pour cibler les interventions qui visent à prévenir la criminalité et élaborer des politiques visant à traiter les délinquants équitablement et à favoriser leur réinsertion, il est nécessaire de bien comprendre ces différents cheminements. Cela ne peut se faire qu’en reconnaissant que les expériences qui conduisent divers groupes de femmes et d’hommes à adopter un comportement criminel sont souvent différentes, et que leurs besoins une fois qu’ils sont admis dans le système sont également différents Note de bas de page 7.

    La littérature sur les cheminements criminels a souvent établi un lien entre la criminalisation des femmes et les expériences de victimisation. Le continuum victimisation-criminalisation Note de bas de page 8 replace le comportement criminel des femmes dans le contexte de leurs expériences personnelles de violence et de victimisation. De nombreuses stratégies d’adaptation à la victimisation ou au cheminement criminel peuvent faire évoluer les femmes dans ce continuum, augmentant ainsi le risque de les voir adopter un comportement criminel Note de bas de page 9. À titre d’exemple, la plupart des femmes qui ont eu des démêlés avec le système de justice pénale ont connu l’exclusion sociale causée par des abus physiques ou sexuels, des maladies mentales, la pauvreté, l’itinérance, le racisme ou des antécédents de traumatisme Note de bas de page 10. Les femmes criminalisées font également souvent état d’antécédents de toxicomanie, d’automutilation ou de tentatives de suicide Note de bas de page 11. La consommation de substances psychoactives est un facteur majeur susceptible de mener les femmes à la criminalité. En fait, de nombreuses femmes commettent des crimes tels que des vols et des infractions contre les biens pour financer leur dépendance Note de bas de page 12.

    Bien que certains cheminements soient similaires chez les hommes et les femmes, de nombreuses conditions sociales et économiques touchent davantage les femmes que les hommes, comme la monoparentalité, le manque d’accès à des services de garde d’enfants abordables, la pauvreté, le manque d’accès aux possibilités d’emploi et l’instabilité sur le plan du logement Note de bas de page 13.

  • Femmes délinquantes

    Par rapport aux hommes, les femmes représentent une faible proportion des personnes accusées d’incidents criminels déclarés par la police Note de bas de page 14. Les femmes ont également tendance à être arrêtées et condamnées pour des crimes moins graves que les hommes Note de bas de page 15. Par exemple, une plus faible proportion des crimes violents est commise par des femmes accusées, plutôt que par des hommes accusés. En revanche, une plus grande proportion des crimes contre les biens est commise par des femmes accusées que par des hommes accusésNote de bas de page 16.

    En outre, les femmes sont beaucoup moins susceptibles que les hommes d’être accusées de crimes violents Note de bas de page 17. Les femmes accusées d’infractions violentes sont souvent accusées d’avoir commis l’infraction dans un contexte de violence familiale ou de violence à l’égard d’un partenaire intime et agissaient en légitime défense ou pour défendre leurs enfants Note de bas de page 18. Lorsque les femmes commettent des actes de violence, les victimes sont le plus souvent des conjoints ou d’autres partenaires intimes Note de bas de page 19.

    Les infractions liées à la drogue ne représentent qu’une faible proportion des incidents criminels signalés à la police par les femmes accusées Note de bas de page 20. Les résultats de recherches internationales révèlent que la participation des femmes au crime organisé est souvent facilitée par les réseaux familiaux et communautaires Note de bas de page 21.

  • Femmes incarcérées dans les établissements correctionnels fédérales

    À la suite du rapport de 1990 s’intitulant « La Création de choix – Le rapport du groupe d'étude sur les femmes purgeant une peine fédérale » (ci-après désigné « La création de choix »), de nombreuses modifications ont été mises en œuvre pour améliorer les conditions d’emprisonnement des femmes au Canada, notamment la fermeture de la prison des femmes et son remplacement par des établissements correctionnels régionales et des pavillons de ressourcement autochtones. La création de choix a également souligné l’importance de considérer la criminalité des femmes comme résultant des effets des traumatismes, de la toxicomanie et de l’isolement social Note de bas de page22.

    En outre, la Commission d’enquête de 1996 sur certains événements survenus à la Prison des femmes de Kingston, menée par l’honorable juge L. Arbour, a souligné la nécessité d’un système correctionnel distinct axé sur les femmes au Canada Note de bas de page 23. En réponse, des programmes correctionnels tenant compte du genre ont été introduits au Canada et comprennent, par exemple, le Programme correctionnel pour délinquantes (PCD), qui offre un modèle de programme holistique et axé sur le genre Note de bas de page 24. Il comprend également le Programme correctionnel pour délinquantes autochtones (PCDA), qui offre des programmes culturellement adaptés aux femmes autochtones incarcérées dans les établissements correctionnels fédérales Note de bas de page 25. Des programmes efficaces, ainsi que des possibilités d’emploi, peuvent aider les délinquantes à réussir leur réinsertion dans la communauté. Toutefois, les délais pour accéder aux programmes sont problématiques, en particulier pour les femmes purgeant des peines plus courtes. Elles sont souvent incapables de terminer les programmes avant leur sortie d'un établissement correctionnel et ne peuvent donc pas bénéficier pleinement des programmes conçus pour la réinsertion Note de bas de page 26.

    Bien que les femmes ne représentent qu’une faible proportion des personnes incarcérées, elles constituent le groupe carcéral qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide Note de bas de page 27. Au Canada, le taux de femmes dans les pénitenciers fédéraux a augmenté de 50 % au cours des 20 dernières années Note de bas de page 28.

    Pour favoriser le succès de la réinsertion des délinquantes, il faut leur donner la possibilité de travailler sur leurs besoins criminogènes, notamment dans le contexte carcéral ou dans le cadre de programmes communautaires Note de bas de page 29. Ces besoins doivent être abordés de façon appropriée par l’entremise d’approches, de programmes ou de traitements tenant compte des traumatismes et de la violence, ainsi que du genre, afin de réduire la probabilité de récidive Note de bas de page 30. Les besoins criminogènes sont généralement regroupés dans les sept domaines suivants :

    « la vie des femmes incarcérées est le reflet de celle des femmes les plus marginalisées1 de nos collectivités qui n’ont pas accès au logement, à la sécurité physique et sexuelle, à l’emploi et aux traitements liés à la santé mentale et aux dépendances » (traduction) (Balfour 2020, 161).
    • emploi/éducation - qui évalue les antécédents professionnels et le niveau d’éducation de la personne délinquante;
    • fonctionnement dans la communauté - qui évalue des facteurs tels que le logement et la pauvreté;
    • situation matrimoniale et familiale - qui évalue la situation familiale de la personne délinquante;
    • associés - qui examine l’entourage social de la personne délinquante;
    • volet personnel/émotionnel - qui évalue les différents traits de la personnalité et des émotions de la personne délinquante;
    • attitude - qui évalue les opinions pro-sociales de la personne délinquante;
    • consommation de substances et toxicomanie - évalue la présence de problèmes actuels ou passés en matière de consommation de substances.

    Dans la plupart des domaines criminogènes, les femmes incarcérées sont plus susceptibles d’avoir des besoins modérés ou élevés que les hommes incarcérés. Par exemple, les femmes incarcérées sont plus susceptibles de ne pas avoir terminé leurs études secondaires et d’être sans emploi au moment de leur arrestation que leurs homologues masculins Note de bas de page 31. En outre, de nombreuses femmes incarcérées ont des enfants ou autres personnes à charge à la maison, ce qui peut entraîner une anxiété accrue lorsqu’elles en sont séparées Note de bas de page 32. Les résultats de recherches ont également révélé des effets négatifs pour les mères et leurs enfants en raison de cette séparation Note de bas de page 33. Bien que le Service correctionnel du Canada offre le Programme mère-enfant en établissement, ce programme a toujours connu un faible taux de participation en raison de l’évaluation préalable rigoureuse requise pour y participer, et ce, afin d’assurer la sécurité de toutes les personnes concernées Note de bas de page 34.

    Le nombre disproportionné de femmes incarcérées ayant des problèmes de santé mentale par rapport aux hommes incarcérés, ainsi que par rapport à la population générale est un autre exemple des différents besoins des femmes incarcérées. En fait, de nombreuses femmes incarcérées dans les établissements correctionnels fédérales répondent aux critères de troubles mentaux, ont un faible fonctionnement psychologique et social, et certaines ont été hospitalisées pour des raisons de nature psychiatrique avant leur incarcération Note de bas de page 35. En outre, les incidents d’automutilation dans les établissements correctionnels fédérales sont à la hausse et sont disproportionnellement fréquents chez les femmes Note de bas de page 36. La plupart des femmes qui s’automutilent le font dans le cadre d’une stratégie d’adaptation pour faire face à leurs émotions et à des antécédents de traumatisme Note de bas de page 37.

    En 2017, le Vérificateur général a indiqué que les institutions fédérales n’ont pas « la capacité suffisante pour fournir les services de santé mentale dont les délinquantes ont besoin » Note de bas de page 38. Cette situation est particulièrement préoccupante car les maladies peuvent être exacerbées par les conditions de détention et, si elles conduisent à un comportement nuisible, à l’automutilation ou à la violence, elles peuvent entraîner des conditions de détention encore plus restrictives et punitives Note de bas de page 39. Bien que ces résultats mettent en lumière le besoin en matière de soins de santé et de santé mentale convenables dans les institutions fédérales, les résultats de recherches ont également démontré que le milieu carcéral n’est souvent pas propice aux interventions thérapeutiques et à la guérison Note de bas de page 40. Plus précisément, certains aspects de l’environnement carcéral, tels que l’isolement, le confinement et l’accent mis sur la sécurité, peuvent nuire aux pratiques exemplaires en matière de traitement des problèmes de santé mentale les plus graves. Les pratiques et interventions fondées sur les traumatismes et la violence sont des outils importants pour répondre aux besoins des femmes criminalisées, en particulier celles qui ont des antécédents de maltraitance et qui s’automutilent.

  • Réinsertion des femmes dans la collectivité

    Les femmes libérées de prison ne représentent généralement pas un risque important pour la collectivité. Elles ont tendance à présenter un faible taux de récidive et lorsqu’elles récidivent, leurs crimes n’augmentent généralement pas en gravité Note de bas de page 41. Certains groupes de défense tels que l’Association canadienne des sociétés Elizabeth Fry ont fait valoir qu’on devrait tenir compte de ce faible risque de récidive lors de la planification de la libération des femmes criminalisées.

    Une libération anticipée de la prison peut aider les femmes à se réinsérer avec succès dans la collectivité. Cependant, de nombreuses femmes incarcérées sont placées sur des listes d’attente pour des programmes correctionnels et des plans de logement communautaire, ce qui affecte en fin de compte leur admissibilité à la libération conditionnelle Note de bas de page 42. Voici d’autres obstacles au succès de la réinsertion dans la collectivité :

    • respect des nombreuses et strictes conditions de libération conditionnelle;
    • recherche d’un logement et d’un emploi;
    • obtention de soins de santé et de santé mentale;
    • obtention de traitements pour des problèmes de toxicomanie;
    • obtention d’aide sociale et atteinte de la stabilité financière;
    • retrouvailles avec les enfants et les familles; et,
    • adaptation à la stigmatisation liée à leur statut de criminelleNote de bas de page 43.

    Si ces questions ne sont pas abordées, les femmes risquent de vivre dans des situations dangereuses et d’accroître leur risque de victimisation et de récidive. En raison des expériences et des besoins uniques des femmes criminalisées, il est important pour ces dernières d’avoir accès à des ressources adaptées à leur genre.

  • Approches tenant compte du genre

    Une compréhension de la criminalisation tenant compte du genre Note de bas de page 44 est essentielle car les expériences et les cheminements criminels des femmes sont différents de ceux des hommes Note de bas de page 45. L’élaboration de politiques, de programmes et de procédures qui reflètent ces différences pourrait améliorer les modèles de gestion, de programmation et de prestation de services pour les délinquantes, tout en étant culturellement convenables et non discriminatoires Note de bas de page 46.

    Les approches tenant compte du genre comprennent les principes directeurs suivants :

    Les approches tenant compte du genre « exigent une connaissance des réalités de la vie des femmes, y compris les cheminements qui les mènent à commettre des actes criminels et les relations qui façonnent leur vie » (traduction) (Bloom et coll. 2003, 2).

    • reconnaître et démontrer comment le genre et d’autres facteurs identitaires qui se recoupent font la différence dans la façon dont les gens vivent le système de justice pénale;
    • créer un environnement informé sur les traumatismes et la violence, fondé sur la sécurité, la dignité et le respect;
    • aborder les problèmes de toxicomanie, de traumatisme et de santé mentale par l’entremise de services complets, intégrés et culturellement adaptés et d’une supervision adéquate;
    • consacrer davantage de ressources à l’étude des expériences vécues par les femmes dans le système de justice pénale, en particulier des femmes présentant d’autres facteurs identitaires croisés;
    • élaborer des politiques, des pratiques et des programmes qui sont relationnels et favorisent des relations saines avec les enfants, la famille et les proches;
    • offrir aux femmes des possibilités d’améliorer leurs conditions socio-économiques;
    • établir un système de supervision et de réinsertion communautaire offrant des services complets et collaboratifs Note de bas de page 47.

Pour des études et ressources connexes, veuillez cliquer sur le lien ci-dessus.

Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessus pour savoir comment partager votre étude les droits, les besoins et les expériences uniques des femmes interagissant avec le système de justice pénale.

Date modified: