Next Steps


The United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Act became law and came into force on June 21, 2021.

As the next step, the Government of Canada will work in consultation and cooperation with First Nations, Inuit and the Métis Nation to:

The Act requires that the action plan be developed as soon as possible and no later than two years after the coming into force of the Act, which means it needs to be completed by June 2023.

Moving forward together

As a first step, the Government of Canada will be working closely with First Nations, Inuit and the Métis Nation to better understand their priorities to help shape the initial draft of an action plan and begin to identify potential measures for aligning federal laws with the Declaration. This important dialogue will continue over the winter and spring of 2022.

This first phase will focus on engagement with Indigenous partners, including:

This is only the first step toward the development of an action plan with Indigenous partners. There will be a further process for Indigenous peoples and the Government of Canada to work in cooperation on measures to implement the Declaration, informed by the priorities identified in the initial draft of the action plan.

How to participate

There will be a variety of ways to participate in this process. This will include opportunities for Indigenous peoples to participate in Indigenous-led consultations sessions and share views and input through virtual consultation and engagement sessions and by email, mail or online. In addition, the Government of Canada will be holding multiple virtual sessions to learn more about Indigenous priorities for the action plan and measures to ensure the consistency of federal laws with the Declaration.

Download your: Engagement kit

Engagement kit
now available

Download or consult our engagement kit that includes information on the Declaration, the Act and other resources.

Have your say: Submit your feedback

Have your say:
Submit your feedback

First Nations, Inuit and the Métis can share their feedback on implementing the Declaration in Canada.

Potential topics for discussion

We welcome all views and perspectives on key priorities for the action plan, and measures to ensure the consistency of federal laws with the Declaration and annual reporting on progress.

The Act requires the action plan to include measures:

The action plan can also include other measures to achieve the objectives of the Declaration related to:

This collaborative work will complement other initiatives underway across Canada with Indigenous partners to close socio-economic gaps, advance reconciliation and renew relationships based on the affirmation of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership.

Submit your feedback

The Act specifically outlines key areas that the Government of Canada must consult on with Indigenous peoples in order to meet the requirements of the Act. Here is a series of questions designed to help guide discussions related to each of the legal obligations contained in the Act.

Submit your feedback via email or mail now. An online submissions portal will be available soon.

Email

Declaration@Justice.gc.ca

Mailing address

UN Declaration Act Implementation Secretariat
Department of Justice Canada
275 Sparks Street
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1A 0H8

Featured content

Prochaines étapes


La Loi sur la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones a reçu la sanction royale et est entrée en vigueur le 21 juin 2021.

Comme prochaine étape, le gouvernement du Canada travaillera en consultation et en coopération avec les Premières Nations, les Inuits et les membres de la Nation métisse pour :

La Loi exige que le plan d’action soit élaboré dès que possible et au plus tard deux ans après l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi, ce qui signifie qu’il doit être achevé d’ici juin 2023.

Aller de l'avant ensemble

Dans un premier temps, le gouvernement du Canada travaillera en étroite collaboration avec les Premières Nations, les Inuits et les membres de la Nations métisse afin de mieux comprendre leurs priorités en vue de façonner l’ébauche initiale d’un plan d’action et commencer à définir les mesures potentielles pour harmoniser les lois fédérales avec la Déclaration. Cet important dialogue se poursuivra au cours de l’hiver et du printemps 2022.

Cette première phase se concentrera sur la mobilisation auprès des partenaires autochtones, notamment :

Il ne s’agit que de la première étape de l’élaboration d’un plan d’action avec des partenaires autochtones. Il y aura un processus à venir permettant aux peuples autochtones et au gouvernement du Canada de travailler en collaboration sur les mesures à apporter pour la mise en œuvre de la Déclaration, guidé par les priorités identifiées dans la première ébauche du plan d’action.

Comment participer

Il y aura plusieurs façons de participer au processus. Les peuples autochtones auront notamment l’occasion de participer à des séances de consultation dirigées par des Autochtones et de faire part de leurs points de vue et de leurs commentaires dans le cadre de séances de consultation et de mobilisation virtuelles, ainsi que par courriel, par courrier ou en ligne. De plus, le gouvernement du Canada tiendra plusieurs séances virtuelles afin d’en apprendre davantage sur les priorités des Autochtones en lien avec le plan d’action et les mesures visant à assurer la cohérence des lois fédérales avec la Déclaration.

Téléchargez votre : Trousse d’information

Trousse de mobilisation
maintenant disponible

Téléchargez ou consultez notre trousse de mobilisation qui comprend des informations sur la Déclaration, la Loi et d’autres ressources.

À vous la parole : Envoyez vos commentaires

À vous la parole :
Envoyez vos commentaires

Les membres des Premières Nations, les Inuits et les Métis peuvent nous faire part de leurs priorités et commentaires sur la mise en œuvre de la Déclaration au Canada.

Sujets de discussion possibles

Nous souhaitons recueillir vos points de vue sur les priorités fondamentales du plan d’action et les mesures visant à assurer la cohérence des lois fédérales avec la Déclaration et les rapports annuels sur les progrès réalisés.

La Loi exige que le plan d’action comprenne des mesures :

Le plan d’action peut également comprendre d’autres mesures visant à atteindre les objectifs de la Déclaration relatifs :

Ce travail de collaboration viendra compléter d’autres initiatives en cours dans l’ensemble du Canada avec des partenaires autochtones, et ce, afin de combler les écarts socioéconomiques, de faire progresser la réconciliation et de renouveler les relations fondées sur l’affirmation des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat.

Envoyez vos commentaires

La Loi décrit précisément les principaux domaines sur lesquels le gouvernement du Canada doit mener des consultations avec les peuples autochtones afin de satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi. Voici une série de questions qui vise à orienter les discussions liées à chacune des obligations juridiques contenues dans la Loi.

Envoyez vos commentaires par courriel ou par la poste dès maintenant. Un portail pour les soumissions en ligne sera bientôt disponible.

Courriel

Declaration@Justice.gc.ca

Adresse postale

Secrétariat de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la Déclaration des Nations Unies
Ministère de la Justice Canada
275, rue Sparks
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1A 0H8

Contenu en vedette